Disaster Data / States / Utah / Washington County

County

Washington County, Utah

Washington County recorded 4 federal major disaster declarations since FY2000 (through FY2026), the federal government's fullest response to an event. Alongside those sit 2 emergency declarations and 6 fire management declarations, 12 in all. Its most common hazard is fire.

Highlighted: Washington County, UT

Totals: FY2000 to FY2026 · Page last rebuilt Oct 26, 2026 · the current in-progress fiscal year is not included in totals

4
Major disasters
2
Emergency declarations
6
Fire management grants
12
All declarations on record
Jun 2025
Most recent
$15.3M
Federal PA obligated (top: water control facilities)

The federal disaster record for Washington County runs between 2004 and 2025, covering 12 declarations in all. Its most recent major disaster declaration was Covid-19 Pandemic in 2020. The hazards behind these declarations were most often fire, flood, and biological. Since 2000, FEMA has obligated about $15.3 million in Public Assistance funding to the jurisdiction, most of it for water control facilities.

Risk and vulnerability context

Historical declarations show what has happened here. These national datasets add context about underlying natural-hazard risk and community vulnerability.

County FIPS 49053
CDC / ATSDR

Social Vulnerability Index

2022 county-level SVI
38.8
overall percentile nationally

Approximately 38.8% of U.S. counties have an equal or lower overall SVI ranking.

Socioeconomic status33.8
Household characteristics57.6
Racial and ethnic minority status47.6
Housing type and transportation33.1

Higher percentiles indicate greater relative social vulnerability within the CDC SVI framework. CDC SVI documentation

FEMA

National Risk Index

December 2025
92.8
overall risk score
Relatively Moderate
Expected annual loss$147.7MRelatively Moderate
NRI social vulnerability20.8Relatively Low
Community resilience45.1Relatively Moderate

The NRI combines expected annual loss, social vulnerability, and community resilience to describe relative natural-hazard risk. FEMA NRI documentation

About these measures: CDC Social Vulnerability Index and FEMA National Risk Index Social Vulnerability are separate measures built with different methods. They are shown side by side for context and should not be interpreted as equivalent scores.

Federal Public Assistance obligated

$15M has been obligated to Washington County in Public Assistance since FY2000.

$15M followed major disasters other than COVID-19.

Obligated is the committed share, not necessarily spent, and can be revised as projects close out.

Federal Public Assistance by category

Federal share obligated to this jurisdiction under FEMA Public Assistance since 2000, grouped by damage category. Figures are rounded to the nearest dollar and reflect obligations, which may change as projects close out.

CategoryProjectsFederal share obligated
Water control facilities(D)22$3,946,908
Utilities(F)52$3,848,878
Parks and recreation(G)47$3,814,084
Emergency protective measures(B)64$1,617,540
Roads and bridges(C)85$1,554,605
Debris removal(A)22$514,086
All categories292$15,296,101

Recovery funding, how fast it came

For each disaster, the wait from the declaration to the first federal obligation (amber), then the federal share obligating after that (teal), on a shared 8-year scale. Typical wait to the first obligation here: about 32 days. An obligation is the federal share committed to the recipient state, not funds disbursed to the locality, which comes later and is not shown.

Severe Storm And Flooding 2012$1.6M
38 days to first federal obligation
Severe Winter Storm And Flooding 2011$7.3M
32 days to first federal obligation
Severe Storms And Flooding 2005$6.4M
22 days to first federal obligation
Declared1 yr2 yr3 yr4 yr5 yr6 yr7 yr8 yr

Assistance to households (Individual Assistance)

FEMA Individual Assistance to households in this jurisdiction, combined across the Housing Assistance owner and renter programs. Valid registrations are households that applied within a designated Individual Assistance area; approved counts and dollars are the households FEMA found eligible under the Individuals and Households Program. Figures are self-reported and drawn from NEMIS through OpenFEMA, not audited, and Individual Assistance exists only for disasters where it was designated, so many jurisdictions show none.

354
valid registrations
309
households approved
$1,907,811
total IHP approved
Assistance typeApproved amount
Other needs$1,907,811

Hazard mitigation, what has been funded here

Federal Hazard Mitigation Assistance obligated to this jurisdiction to reduce future disaster losses, across the FEMA mitigation programs. This is the record of past mitigation investment a local hazard mitigation plan documents. Figures are federal share obligated, reported through OpenFEMA and not audited, and are separate from the Public Assistance funding above.

$4,977,529
federal mitigation share
13
funded projects
9
properties mitigated
ProgramProjectsFederal share obligated
Pre-Disaster Mitigation(PDM)5$2,482,165
Hazard Mitigation Grant Program(HMGP)7$2,295,364
Legislative Pre-Disaster Mitigation(LPDM)1$200,000

State declarations (governor)

Emergency declarations issued by the governor of this state, which are separate from and usually precede a federal declaration. A declaration is listed here when NOAA Storm Events recorded reports of the matched hazard in this jurisdiction while the order was in effect. That is evidence of local impact during a declared state emergency. It is not a statement that the governor named this jurisdiction in the order, since most state declarations apply statewide and name no localities at all. Hazard categories come from the order text. Damage figures are NOAA storm report estimates for this jurisdiction only, not the cost of the declaration.

4
state declarations with local storm evidence
32
statewide on record

Archive coverage for Utah: 2000-present Office of Administrative Rules executive-document indexes and legal texts

SignedOrderDeclarationHazards reported hereReported damage
Jul 22, 20262026-05Declaring a State of Emergency in Certain Counties Due to Wildfires and Flooding Related to WildfiresFlash FloodNot reported
Aug 23, 20242024-01Declaring a State of Emergency Due to FloodingFlash Flood$50,000
Aug 23, 20222022-005Declaring a State of Emergency Due to Flash FloodingFlash FloodNot reported
Sep 9, 2002UT-PROC-E9787C0A7F51C6C7Declaring a State of Emergency in Sanpete County Due to Severe Thunderstorms, Hail, High Winds, and a F2 TornadoFlash Flood$20,000

Source: state executive order archives collected by DisasterData Plus, joined to NOAA Storm Events. See the Plus overview for per-state coverage and method.

Most common hazards

Every declaration on record

Major disaster (DR). The big one. Opens the full toolbox: repair money for public infrastructure, help for households, and mitigation funding to reduce the next loss.

Emergency (EM). Narrower and usually faster, for protective work before or during an incident. Capped, and rarely brings household assistance. Nearly every county has one from COVID-19.

Fire management (FM). Cost sharing to fight a wildfire as it burns. Not a disaster declaration, and it does not open recovery programs.

Showing 12 declarations

DateNumberTypeHazardTitle
Jun 20, 2025FM-5591-UTFMFireForsyth Fire
Jul 13, 2020FM-5321-UTFMFireVeyo West Fire
Apr 4, 2020DR-4525-UTDRBiologicalCovid-19 Pandemic
Mar 13, 2020EM-3478-UTEMBiologicalCovid-19
Jun 21, 2016FM-5130-UTFMFireSaddle Fire
Nov 3, 2012DR-4088-UTDRFloodSevere Storm And Flooding
Feb 11, 2011DR-1955-UTDRFloodSevere Winter Storm And Flooding
Aug 30, 2009FM-2831-UTFMFireMill Flat Fire
Sep 5, 2005EM-3223-UTEMCoastal StormHurricane Katrina Evacuation
Jun 27, 2005FM-2564-UTFMFireBlue Springs Fire
Feb 1, 2005DR-1576-UTDRSevere StormSevere Storms And Flooding
Jun 16, 2004FM-2521-UTFMFireBrookside Fire
← Utah statewide overview · All Utah jurisdictions

How these numbers are built

Drawn from FEMA's OpenFEMA Disaster Declarations Summaries, rebuilt each week. A declaration is counted here once for each designated area it names, so a single disaster covering many localities is counted in each one. For that reason these jurisdiction counts do not sum to Utah's statewide total. This page counts declarations that named this jurisdiction as a designated area. Totals cover complete fiscal years (Oct 1 to Sep 30). Declarations from the fiscal year still in progress are listed in the tables on this page but are not counted in the totals until the year is complete. Uses OpenFEMA data but is not endorsed by or affiliated with FEMA.

Cite this profile

Choose a citation style, then copy the formatted citation. This profile is derived from FEMA OpenFEMA data and is updated as the underlying Disaster Data build is refreshed.

Other Utah jurisdictions