Disaster Data / States / Indiana / Scott County

County

Scott County, Indiana

Scott County recorded 8 federal major disaster declarations since FY2000 (through FY2026), the federal government's fullest response to an event. Alongside those sit 4 emergency declarations and 0 fire management declarations, 12 in all. Its most common hazard is severe storm.

Highlighted: Scott County, IN

Totals: FY2000 to FY2026 · Page last rebuilt Oct 26, 2026 · the current in-progress fiscal year is not included in totals

8
Major disasters
4
Emergency declarations
0
Fire management grants
12
All declarations on record
Jan 2026
Most recent
$990K
Federal PA obligated (top: debris removal)

The federal disaster record for Scott County runs between 2004 and 2026, covering 12 declarations in all. Its most recent major disaster declaration was Covid-19 Pandemic in 2020. The hazards behind these declarations were most often severe storm, biological, and snowstorm. Since 2000, FEMA has obligated $990,262 in Public Assistance funding to the jurisdiction, most of it for debris removal.

Past 12 months

Recent declarations and aid so far

Scott County has been named in 1 federal declaration in the past 12 months. The figures are what FEMA has reported for Scott County to date and grow as recovery continues. It falls in a complete fiscal year and is counted in the totals above.

DeclarationDeclaredHouseholds approvedIndividual AssistancePublic Assistance obligated
EM-3641-INEmergency · Winter StormJan 24, 2026Incident period Jan 23 to 27, 2026None reportedNone reportedNone reported yet

Individual Assistance is FEMA's Individuals and Households Program, from OpenFEMA's Housing Assistance data for owners and renters. Public Assistance is the obligated federal share from OpenFEMA's grant award activity, which usually starts posting weeks to months after a declaration. Select a declaration number to open its full event profile, with the same figures for every place it covers.

Risk and vulnerability context

Historical declarations show what has happened here. These national datasets add context about underlying natural-hazard risk and community vulnerability.

County FIPS 18143
CDC / ATSDR

Social Vulnerability Index

2022 county-level SVI
58.1
overall percentile nationally

Approximately 58.1% of U.S. counties have an equal or lower overall SVI ranking.

Socioeconomic status67.2
Household characteristics50.5
Racial and ethnic minority status9.8
Housing type and transportation66.6

Higher percentiles indicate greater relative social vulnerability within the CDC SVI framework. CDC SVI documentation

FEMA

National Risk Index

December 2025
22.3
overall risk score
Very Low
Expected annual loss$8.8MVery Low
NRI social vulnerability23.3Relatively Low
Community resilience39.5Relatively Low

The NRI combines expected annual loss, social vulnerability, and community resilience to describe relative natural-hazard risk. FEMA NRI documentation

About these measures: CDC Social Vulnerability Index and FEMA National Risk Index Social Vulnerability are separate measures built with different methods. They are shown side by side for context and should not be interpreted as equivalent scores.

Federal Public Assistance obligated

$990K has been obligated to Scott County in Public Assistance since FY2000.

$841K followed major disasters other than COVID-19. $28K followed emergency declarations, which cover debris removal and emergency protective work only. $121K, or 12% of the total, was COVID-19, which every county in the country received.

Obligated is the committed share, not necessarily spent, and can be revised as projects close out.

Federal Public Assistance by category

Federal share obligated to this jurisdiction under FEMA Public Assistance since 2000, grouped by damage category. Figures are rounded to the nearest dollar and reflect obligations, which may change as projects close out.

CategoryProjectsFederal share obligated
Debris removal(A)11$375,561
Emergency protective measures(B)22$276,593
Utilities(F)3$166,611
Roads and bridges(C)10$127,500
Buildings and equipment(E)16$23,640
Parks and recreation(G)4$20,357
All categories66$990,262

Recovery funding, how fast it came

For each disaster, the wait from the declaration to the first federal obligation (amber), then the federal share obligating after that (teal), on a shared 3-year scale. Typical wait to the first obligation here: about 61 days. An obligation is the federal share committed to the recipient state, not funds disbursed to the locality, which comes later and is not shown.

Covid-19 Pandemic 2020$121K
462 days to first federal obligation
Severe Storms, Straight-Line Winds, And Tornadoes 2012$14K
55 days to first federal obligation
Severe Storms, Tornadoes, Straight-Line Winds, And 2011$193K
50 days to first federal obligation
Severe Winter Storm 2009$61K
68 days to first federal obligation
Severe Storms And Flooding 2008$433K
87 days to first federal obligation
Snow 2005$28K
31 days to first federal obligation
Declared1 yr2 yr3 yr

Assistance to households (Individual Assistance)

FEMA Individual Assistance to households in this jurisdiction, combined across the Housing Assistance owner and renter programs. Valid registrations are households that applied within a designated Individual Assistance area; approved counts and dollars are the households FEMA found eligible under the Individuals and Households Program. Figures are self-reported and drawn from NEMIS through OpenFEMA, not audited, and Individual Assistance exists only for disasters where it was designated, so many jurisdictions show none.

636
valid registrations
135
households approved
$565,761
total IHP approved
Assistance typeApproved amount
Repair and replacement$291,212
Rental assistance$49,751
Other needs$224,147

State declarations (governor)

Emergency declarations issued by the governor of this state, which are separate from and usually precede a federal declaration. A declaration is listed here when NOAA Storm Events recorded reports of the matched hazard in this jurisdiction while the order was in effect. That is evidence of local impact during a declared state emergency. It is not a statement that the governor named this jurisdiction in the order, since most state declarations apply statewide and name no localities at all. Hazard categories come from the order text. Damage figures are NOAA storm report estimates for this jurisdiction only, not the cost of the declaration.

7
state declarations with local storm evidence
35
statewide on record

Archive coverage for Indiana: 2000-present via current + historical governor archives; Pence-era (2013-2017) page structure not yet independently re-verified

SignedOrderDeclarationHazards reported hereReported damage
Jun 19, 202626-15DECLARING A DISASTER EMERGENCY IN ALLEN, BARTHOLOMEW, BENTON, BOONE, BROWN, CARROLL, CASS, CLAY, CLINTON, DEARBORN, DECATUR, DELAWARE, ELKHART, FRANKLIN, FOUNTAIN, FULTON, GRANT, GREENE, HAMILTON, HANCOCK, HARRISON, HENDRICKS, HOWARD, HUNTINGTON, JACKSON, JASPER, JAY, JEFFERSON, JENNINGS, JOHNSON, KOSIUSKO, KNOX, LAGRANGE, LAKE, LAPORTE, LAWRENCE, MADISON, MARION, MARSHALL, MIAMI, MONROE, MONTGOMERY, MORGAN, NEWTON, OHIO, OWEN, PARKE, PORTER, PUTNAM, RANDOLPH, RIPLEY, RUSH, SHELBY, ST. JOSEPH, STEUBEN, SWITZERLAND, TIPPECANOE, WABASH, WARREN, WHITE, VANDERBURGH, VERMILLION, AND VIGO COUNTIES DUE TO FLOODING, SEVERE WEATHER, TORNADIC ACTIVITY, AND A DERECHOTornadoNot reported
Mar 12, 202626-08DECLARING A DISASTER EMERGENCY IN JASPER, NEWTON, AND STARKE COUNTIES DUE TO SEVERE WEATHER AND TORNADIC ACTIVITYThunderstorm WindNot reported
Feb 27, 201818-03DECLARING A DISASTER EMERGENCY IN HARRISON, JASPER, OHIO, AND PULASKI COUNTIES DUE TO STORMS, TORRENTIAL RAINFALL, AND FLOODINGFlash FloodNot reported
Feb 26, 201818-02DECLARING A DISASTER EMERGENCY IN BENTON, CLARK, CRAWFORD, FLOYD, JEFFERSON, SPENCER, AND WARRICK COUNTIES DUE TO STORMS, TORRENTIAL RAINFALL, AND FLOODINGFlash FloodNot reported
Feb 24, 201818-01DECLARING A DISASTER EMERGENCY IN CARROLL, DEARBORN, ELKHART, FULTON, LAKE, MARSHALL, PERRY, ST. JOSEPH, STARKE, SWITZERLAND, AND WHITE COUNTIES DUE TO STORMS, TORRENTIAL RAINFALL, AND FLOODINGFlash FloodNot reported
Mar 2, 201212-01Disaster Declaration for Severe Storms and TornadosHail, Tornado$500,000
Aug 4, 200909-06Disaster Declaration for Rainfall and Flooding in Southern IndianaFlash FloodNot reported

Source: state executive order archives collected by DisasterData Plus, joined to NOAA Storm Events. See the Plus overview for per-state coverage and method.

Most common hazards

Every declaration on record

Major disaster (DR). The big one. Opens the full toolbox: repair money for public infrastructure, help for households, and mitigation funding to reduce the next loss.

Emergency (EM). Narrower and usually faster, for protective work before or during an incident. Capped, and rarely brings household assistance. Nearly every county has one from COVID-19.

Fire management (FM). Cost sharing to fight a wildfire as it burns. Not a disaster declaration, and it does not open recovery programs.

Showing 12 declarations

DateNumberTypeHazardTitle
Jan 24, 2026EM-3641-INEMWinter StormSevere Winter Storm
Apr 3, 2020DR-4515-INDRBiologicalCovid-19 Pandemic
Mar 13, 2020EM-3456-INEMBiologicalCovid-19
Mar 9, 2012DR-4058-INDRSevere StormSevere Storms, Straight-Line Winds, And Tornadoes
Jun 23, 2011DR-1997-INDRSevere StormSevere Storms, Tornadoes, Straight-Line Winds, And
Mar 5, 2009DR-1828-INDRSevere StormSevere Winter Storm
Sep 23, 2008DR-1795-INDRSevere StormSevere Storms And Flooding
Sep 10, 2005EM-3238-INEMHurricaneHurricane Katrina Evacuation
Jan 21, 2005DR-1573-INDRSevere StormSevere Winter Storms And Flooding
Jan 11, 2005EM-3197-INEMSnowstormSnow
Sep 1, 2004DR-1542-INDRSevere StormSevere Storms, Tornadoes And Flooding
Jun 3, 2004DR-1520-INDRSevere StormSevere Storms, Tornadoes, And Flooding
← Indiana statewide overview · All Indiana jurisdictions

How these numbers are built

Drawn from FEMA's OpenFEMA Disaster Declarations Summaries, rebuilt each week. A declaration is counted here once for each designated area it names, so a single disaster covering many localities is counted in each one. For that reason these jurisdiction counts do not sum to Indiana's statewide total. This page counts declarations that named this jurisdiction as a designated area. Totals cover complete fiscal years (Oct 1 to Sep 30). Declarations from the fiscal year still in progress are listed in the tables on this page but are not counted in the totals until the year is complete. Uses OpenFEMA data but is not endorsed by or affiliated with FEMA.

Cite this profile

Choose a citation style, then copy the formatted citation. This profile is derived from FEMA OpenFEMA data and is updated as the underlying Disaster Data build is refreshed.

Other Indiana jurisdictions