Disaster Data / States / South Dakota / Grant County

County

Grant County, South Dakota

Grant County recorded 11 federal major disaster declarations since FY2000 (through FY2026), the federal government's fullest response to an event. Alongside those sit 2 emergency declarations and 0 fire management declarations, 13 in all. Its most common hazard is flood.

Highlighted: Grant County, SD

Totals: FY2000 to FY2026 · Page last rebuilt Oct 26, 2026 · the current in-progress fiscal year is not included in totals

11
Major disasters
2
Emergency declarations
0
Fire management grants
13
All declarations on record
Jul 2023
Most recent
$3.0M
Federal PA obligated (top: utilities)

The federal disaster record for Grant County runs between 2001 and 2023, covering 13 declarations in all. Its most recent major disaster declaration was Flooding in 2023. The hazards behind these declarations were most often flood, severe storm, and biological. Since 2000, FEMA has obligated about $3.0 million in Public Assistance funding to the jurisdiction, most of it for utilities.

Risk and vulnerability context

Historical declarations show what has happened here. These national datasets add context about underlying natural-hazard risk and community vulnerability.

County FIPS 46051
CDC / ATSDR

Social Vulnerability Index

2022 county-level SVI
23.1
overall percentile nationally

Approximately 23.1% of U.S. counties have an equal or lower overall SVI ranking.

Socioeconomic status14.6
Household characteristics32.3
Racial and ethnic minority status19.9
Housing type and transportation53.9

Higher percentiles indicate greater relative social vulnerability within the CDC SVI framework. CDC SVI documentation

FEMA

National Risk Index

December 2025
18.9
overall risk score
Very Low
Expected annual loss$10.7MVery Low
NRI social vulnerability10.6Very Low
Community resilience78.9Relatively High

The NRI combines expected annual loss, social vulnerability, and community resilience to describe relative natural-hazard risk. FEMA NRI documentation

About these measures: CDC Social Vulnerability Index and FEMA National Risk Index Social Vulnerability are separate measures built with different methods. They are shown side by side for context and should not be interpreted as equivalent scores.

Federal Public Assistance obligated

$3M has been obligated to Grant County in Public Assistance since FY2000.

$3M followed major disasters other than COVID-19. $54K appears in FEMA's county totals but is not tied to a single declaration in the obligation timing file, so it is left unattributed here rather than assigned to a type.

Obligated is the committed share, not necessarily spent, and can be revised as projects close out.

Federal Public Assistance by category

Federal share obligated to this jurisdiction under FEMA Public Assistance since 2000, grouped by damage category. Figures are rounded to the nearest dollar and reflect obligations, which may change as projects close out.

CategoryProjectsFederal share obligated
Utilities(F)17$1,489,929
Roads and bridges(C)119$1,188,837
Emergency protective measures(B)15$203,772
Debris removal(A)13$145,814
Management costs(Z)10$17,732
Parks and recreation(G)2$1,922
Buildings and equipment(E)1$548
All categories177$3,048,554

Recovery funding, how fast it came

For each disaster, the wait from the declaration to the first federal obligation (amber), then the federal share obligating after that (teal), on a shared 3-year scale. Typical wait to the first obligation here: about 145 days. An obligation is the federal share committed to the recipient state, not funds disbursed to the locality, which comes later and is not shown.

Flooding 2023$577K
91 days to first federal obligation
DR-4689 2023$52K
163 days to first federal obligation
Severe Storm, Straight-Line Winds, Tornadoes, And Flooding 2022$41K
147 days to first federal obligation
Severe Winter Storm, Snowstorm, And Flooding 2019$277K
168 days to first federal obligation
Severe Storms, Tornadoes, And Flooding 2013$68K
53 days to first federal obligation
Flooding 2011$93K
144 days to first federal obligation
Declared1 yr2 yr3 yr

Assistance to households (Individual Assistance)

FEMA Individual Assistance to households in this jurisdiction, combined across the Housing Assistance owner and renter programs. Valid registrations are households that applied within a designated Individual Assistance area; approved counts and dollars are the households FEMA found eligible under the Individuals and Households Program. Figures are self-reported and drawn from NEMIS through OpenFEMA, not audited, and Individual Assistance exists only for disasters where it was designated, so many jurisdictions show none.

23
valid registrations
22
households approved
$158,565
total IHP approved
Assistance typeApproved amount
Other needs$158,565

Hazard mitigation, what has been funded here

Federal Hazard Mitigation Assistance obligated to this jurisdiction to reduce future disaster losses, across the FEMA mitigation programs. This is the record of past mitigation investment a local hazard mitigation plan documents. Figures are federal share obligated, reported through OpenFEMA and not audited, and are separate from the Public Assistance funding above.

$3,612,360
federal mitigation share
23
funded projects
1
property mitigated
ProgramProjectsFederal share obligated
Hazard Mitigation Grant Program(HMGP)21$3,589,456
Pre-Disaster Mitigation(PDM)2$22,905

State declarations (governor)

Emergency declarations issued by the governor of this state, which are separate from and usually precede a federal declaration. A declaration is listed here when NOAA Storm Events recorded reports of the matched hazard in this jurisdiction while the order was in effect. That is evidence of local impact during a declared state emergency. It is not a statement that the governor named this jurisdiction in the order, since most state declarations apply statewide and name no localities at all. Hazard categories come from the order text. Damage figures are NOAA storm report estimates for this jurisdiction only, not the cost of the declaration.

2
state declarations with local storm evidence
22
statewide on record

Archive coverage for South Dakota: 2020-present structured SD Secretary of State registry; 2000-2019 exists behind an unverified ASP.NET postback form, backfill pending

SignedOrderDeclarationHazards reported hereReported damage
Jul 1, 20262026-07Wind Disaster DeclarationThunderstorm WindNot reported
May 13, 20222022-03State of Emergency DeclarationThunderstorm Wind, TornadoNot reported

Source: state executive order archives collected by DisasterData Plus, joined to NOAA Storm Events. See the Plus overview for per-state coverage and method.

Most common hazards

Every declaration on record

Major disaster (DR). The big one. Opens the full toolbox: repair money for public infrastructure, help for households, and mitigation funding to reduce the next loss.

Emergency (EM). Narrower and usually faster, for protective work before or during an incident. Capped, and rarely brings household assistance. Nearly every county has one from COVID-19.

Fire management (FM). Cost sharing to fight a wildfire as it burns. Not a disaster declaration, and it does not open recovery programs.

Showing 13 declarations

DateNumberTypeHazardTitle
Jul 6, 2023DR-4718-SDDRFloodFlooding
Jun 29, 2022DR-4656-SDDRSevere StormSevere Storm, Straight-Line Winds, Tornadoes, And Flooding
Apr 5, 2020DR-4527-SDDRBiologicalCovid-19 Pandemic
Mar 13, 2020EM-3475-SDEMBiologicalCovid-19
Jun 7, 2019DR-4440-SDDRFloodSevere Winter Storm, Snowstorm, And Flooding
Feb 1, 2017DR-4298-SDDRSevere StormSevere Winter Storm
Aug 2, 2013DR-4137-SDDRSevere StormSevere Storms, Tornadoes, And Flooding
May 13, 2011DR-1984-SDDRFloodFlooding
May 13, 2010DR-1915-SDDRFloodFlooding
Mar 10, 2010DR-1887-SDDRSevere StormSevere Winter Storm
Dec 20, 2005DR-1620-SDDRSevere StormSevere Winter Storm
Sep 10, 2005EM-3234-SDEMCoastal StormHurricane Katrina Evacuation
May 17, 2001DR-1375-SDDRFloodSevere Winter Storms, Flooding, And Ice Jams
← South Dakota statewide overview · All South Dakota jurisdictions

How these numbers are built

Drawn from FEMA's OpenFEMA Disaster Declarations Summaries, rebuilt each week. A declaration is counted here once for each designated area it names, so a single disaster covering many localities is counted in each one. For that reason these jurisdiction counts do not sum to South Dakota's statewide total. This page counts declarations that named this jurisdiction as a designated area. Totals cover complete fiscal years (Oct 1 to Sep 30). Declarations from the fiscal year still in progress are listed in the tables on this page but are not counted in the totals until the year is complete. Uses OpenFEMA data but is not endorsed by or affiliated with FEMA.

Cite this profile

Choose a citation style, then copy the formatted citation. This profile is derived from FEMA OpenFEMA data and is updated as the underlying Disaster Data build is refreshed.

Other South Dakota jurisdictions