Disaster Data / States / South Dakota / Harding County

County

Harding County, South Dakota

Harding County recorded 8 federal major disaster declarations since FY2000 (through FY2026), the federal government's fullest response to an event. Alongside those sit 2 emergency declarations and 0 fire management declarations, 10 in all. Its most common hazard is severe storm.

Highlighted: Harding County, SD

Totals: FY2000 to FY2026 · Page last rebuilt Oct 26, 2026 · the current in-progress fiscal year is not included in totals

8
Major disasters
2
Emergency declarations
0
Fire management grants
10
All declarations on record
Apr 2020
Most recent
$93K
Federal PA obligated (top: roads and bridges)

The federal disaster record for Harding County runs between 2005 and 2020, covering 10 declarations in all. Its most recent major disaster declaration was Covid-19 Pandemic in 2020. The hazards behind these declarations were most often severe storm, snowstorm, and biological. Since 2000, FEMA has obligated $92,656 in Public Assistance funding to the jurisdiction, most of it for roads and bridges.

Risk and vulnerability context

Historical declarations show what has happened here. These national datasets add context about underlying natural-hazard risk and community vulnerability.

County FIPS 46063
CDC / ATSDR

Social Vulnerability Index

2022 county-level SVI
2.6
overall percentile nationally

Approximately 2.6% of U.S. counties have an equal or lower overall SVI ranking.

Socioeconomic status0.4
Household characteristics0.5
Racial and ethnic minority status43.1
Housing type and transportation48.6

Higher percentiles indicate greater relative social vulnerability within the CDC SVI framework. CDC SVI documentation

FEMA

National Risk Index

December 2025
1.5
overall risk score
Very Low
Expected annual loss$2.3MVery Low
NRI social vulnerability10.6Very Low
Community resilience45.6Relatively Moderate

The NRI combines expected annual loss, social vulnerability, and community resilience to describe relative natural-hazard risk. FEMA NRI documentation

About these measures: CDC Social Vulnerability Index and FEMA National Risk Index Social Vulnerability are separate measures built with different methods. They are shown side by side for context and should not be interpreted as equivalent scores.

Federal Public Assistance obligated

$93K has been obligated to Harding County in Public Assistance since FY2000.

$93K followed major disasters other than COVID-19.

Obligated is the committed share, not necessarily spent, and can be revised as projects close out.

Federal Public Assistance by category

Federal share obligated to this jurisdiction under FEMA Public Assistance since 2000, grouped by damage category. Figures are rounded to the nearest dollar and reflect obligations, which may change as projects close out.

CategoryProjectsFederal share obligated
Roads and bridges(C)24$62,783
Emergency protective measures(B)5$29,323
Buildings and equipment(E)1$551
All categories30$92,657

Recovery funding, how fast it came

For each disaster, the wait from the declaration to the first federal obligation (amber), then the federal share obligating after that (teal), on a shared 1-year scale. Typical wait to the first obligation here: about 60 days. An obligation is the federal share committed to the recipient state, not funds disbursed to the locality, which comes later and is not shown.

Severe Storms And Flooding 2009$72K
52 days to first federal obligation
Severe Winter Storm And Record And Near Record Snow 2008$21K
69 days to first federal obligation
Declared1 yr

Hazard mitigation, what has been funded here

Federal Hazard Mitigation Assistance obligated to this jurisdiction to reduce future disaster losses, across the FEMA mitigation programs. This is the record of past mitigation investment a local hazard mitigation plan documents. Figures are federal share obligated, reported through OpenFEMA and not audited, and are separate from the Public Assistance funding above.

$15,000
federal mitigation share
2
funded projects
ProgramProjectsFederal share obligated
Pre-Disaster Mitigation(PDM)1$7,500
Hazard Mitigation Grant Program(HMGP)1$7,500

State declarations (governor)

Emergency declarations issued by the governor of this state, which are separate from and usually precede a federal declaration. A declaration is listed here when NOAA Storm Events recorded reports of the matched hazard in this jurisdiction while the order was in effect. That is evidence of local impact during a declared state emergency. It is not a statement that the governor named this jurisdiction in the order, since most state declarations apply statewide and name no localities at all. Hazard categories come from the order text. Damage figures are NOAA storm report estimates for this jurisdiction only, not the cost of the declaration.

2
state declarations with local storm evidence
22
statewide on record

Archive coverage for South Dakota: 2020-present structured SD Secretary of State registry; 2000-2019 exists behind an unverified ASP.NET postback form, backfill pending

SignedOrderDeclarationHazards reported hereReported damage
Jul 27, 20262026-09Wind Disaster DeclarationThunderstorm WindNot reported
Jun 10, 20222022-06Emergency Disaster DeclarationThunderstorm WindNot reported

Source: state executive order archives collected by DisasterData Plus, joined to NOAA Storm Events. See the Plus overview for per-state coverage and method.

Most common hazards

Every declaration on record

Major disaster (DR). The big one. Opens the full toolbox: repair money for public infrastructure, help for households, and mitigation funding to reduce the next loss.

Emergency (EM). Narrower and usually faster, for protective work before or during an incident. Capped, and rarely brings household assistance. Nearly every county has one from COVID-19.

Fire management (FM). Cost sharing to fight a wildfire as it burns. Not a disaster declaration, and it does not open recovery programs.

Showing 10 declarations

DateNumberTypeHazardTitle
Apr 5, 2020DR-4527-SDDRBiologicalCovid-19 Pandemic
Mar 13, 2020EM-3475-SDEMBiologicalCovid-19
Feb 1, 2017DR-4298-SDDRSevere StormSevere Winter Storm
Nov 8, 2013DR-4155-SDDRSevere StormSevere Winter Storm, Snowstorm, And Flooding
Mar 10, 2010DR-1887-SDDRSevere StormSevere Winter Storm
Jun 16, 2009DR-1844-SDDRSevere StormSevere Storms And Flooding
Dec 12, 2008DR-1811-SDDRSnowstormSevere Winter Storm And Record And Near Record Snow
May 22, 2008DR-1759-SDDRSnowstormSevere Winter Storm And Record And Near Record Snow
Jun 5, 2006DR-1647-SDDRSevere StormSevere Winter Storm
Sep 10, 2005EM-3234-SDEMCoastal StormHurricane Katrina Evacuation
← South Dakota statewide overview · All South Dakota jurisdictions

How these numbers are built

Drawn from FEMA's OpenFEMA Disaster Declarations Summaries, rebuilt each week. A declaration is counted here once for each designated area it names, so a single disaster covering many localities is counted in each one. For that reason these jurisdiction counts do not sum to South Dakota's statewide total. This page counts declarations that named this jurisdiction as a designated area. Totals cover complete fiscal years (Oct 1 to Sep 30). Declarations from the fiscal year still in progress are listed in the tables on this page but are not counted in the totals until the year is complete. Uses OpenFEMA data but is not endorsed by or affiliated with FEMA.

Cite this profile

Choose a citation style, then copy the formatted citation. This profile is derived from FEMA OpenFEMA data and is updated as the underlying Disaster Data build is refreshed.

Other South Dakota jurisdictions