Social Vulnerability Index
Approximately 46.4% of U.S. counties have an equal or lower overall SVI ranking.
Higher percentiles indicate greater relative social vulnerability within the CDC SVI framework. CDC SVI documentation
Disaster Data / States / Kansas / Edwards County
CountyEdwards County recorded 22 federal major disaster declarations since FY2000 (through FY2026), the federal government's fullest response to an event. Alongside those sit 3 emergency declarations and 0 fire management declarations, 25 in all. Its most common hazard is severe storm.
Highlighted: Edwards County, KS
Totals: FY2000 to FY2026 · Page last rebuilt Oct 26, 2026 · the current in-progress fiscal year is not included in totals
The federal disaster record for Edwards County runs between 2005 and 2026, covering 25 declarations in all. Its most recent major disaster declaration was Severe Storms, Straight-Line Winds, Tornadoes, And Flooding in 2026. The hazards behind these declarations were most often severe storm, biological, and severe ice storm. Since 2000, FEMA has obligated about $1.9 million in Public Assistance funding to the jurisdiction, most of it for roads and bridges.
Past 12 months
Edwards County has been named in 3 federal declarations in the past 12 months. The figures are what FEMA has reported for Edwards County to date and grow as recovery continues. All of them fall in complete fiscal years and are counted in the totals above.
| Declaration | Declared | Households approved | Individual Assistance | Public Assistance obligated |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| DR-4940-KSMajor disaster · Severe Storm | Sep 1, 2026Incident period Jun 4 to 15, 2026 | None reported | None reported | None reported yet |
| DR-4943-KSMajor disaster · Severe Storm | Sep 1, 2026Incident period Jun 18 to 30, 2026 | None reported | None reported | None reported yet |
| DR-4897-KSMajor disaster · Severe Storm | Dec 19, 2025Incident period Jul 17 to 22, 2025 | None reported | None reported | None reported yet |
Individual Assistance is FEMA's Individuals and Households Program, from OpenFEMA's Housing Assistance data for owners and renters. Public Assistance is the obligated federal share from OpenFEMA's grant award activity, which usually starts posting weeks to months after a declaration. Select a declaration number to open its full event profile, with the same figures for every place it covers.
Historical declarations show what has happened here. These national datasets add context about underlying natural-hazard risk and community vulnerability.
Approximately 46.4% of U.S. counties have an equal or lower overall SVI ranking.
Higher percentiles indicate greater relative social vulnerability within the CDC SVI framework. CDC SVI documentation
The NRI combines expected annual loss, social vulnerability, and community resilience to describe relative natural-hazard risk. FEMA NRI documentation
$2M has been obligated to Edwards County in Public Assistance since FY2000.
$2M followed major disasters other than COVID-19.
Obligated is the committed share, not necessarily spent, and can be revised as projects close out.
Federal share obligated to this jurisdiction under FEMA Public Assistance since 2000, grouped by damage category. Figures are rounded to the nearest dollar and reflect obligations, which may change as projects close out.
| Category | Projects | Federal share obligated |
|---|---|---|
| Roads and bridges(C) | 36 | $1,271,195 |
| Debris removal(A) | 31 | $536,574 |
| Buildings and equipment(E) | 3 | $63,814 |
| Emergency protective measures(B) | 9 | $37,789 |
| Management costs(Z) | 9 | $32,344 |
| Parks and recreation(G) | 1 | $2,014 |
| All categories | 89 | $1,943,730 |
For each disaster, the wait from the declaration to the first federal obligation (amber), then the federal share obligating after that (teal), on a shared 3-year scale. Typical wait to the first obligation here: about 98 days. An obligation is the federal share committed to the recipient state, not funds disbursed to the locality, which comes later and is not shown.
FEMA Individual Assistance to households in this jurisdiction, combined across the Housing Assistance owner and renter programs. Valid registrations are households that applied within a designated Individual Assistance area; approved counts and dollars are the households FEMA found eligible under the Individuals and Households Program. Figures are self-reported and drawn from NEMIS through OpenFEMA, not audited, and Individual Assistance exists only for disasters where it was designated, so many jurisdictions show none.
| Assistance type | Approved amount |
|---|---|
| Repair and replacement | $3,883 |
| Rental assistance | $1,296 |
| Other needs | $32,459 |
Federal Hazard Mitigation Assistance obligated to this jurisdiction to reduce future disaster losses, across the FEMA mitigation programs. This is the record of past mitigation investment a local hazard mitigation plan documents. Figures are federal share obligated, reported through OpenFEMA and not audited, and are separate from the Public Assistance funding above.
| Program | Projects | Federal share obligated |
|---|---|---|
| Flood Mitigation Assistance(FMA) | 2 | $20,425 |
| Hazard Mitigation Grant Program(HMGP) | 1 | $18,799 |
Emergency declarations issued by the governor of this state, which are separate from and usually precede a federal declaration. A declaration is listed here when NOAA Storm Events recorded reports of the matched hazard in this jurisdiction while the order was in effect. That is evidence of local impact during a declared state emergency. It is not a statement that the governor named this jurisdiction in the order, since most state declarations apply statewide and name no localities at all. Hazard categories come from the order text. Damage figures are NOAA storm report estimates for this jurisdiction only, not the cost of the declaration.
Archive coverage for Kansas: 2009-present KDEM disaster-declarations page; 2000-2008 sits behind a JavaScript-loaded archive widget, backfill pending; Collection failed: Kansas adapter: scrape failed (Kansas: could not read https://www.kansastag.gov/388/Kansas-Disaster-Declarations: 403 Client Error: Forbidden for url: https://www.kansastag.gov/388/Kansas-Disaster-Declarations)
| Signed | Order | Declaration | Hazards reported here | Reported damage |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| May 18, 2025 | 3905 | Severe Storms (May 18 - 19 (Severe Storms)) | Tornado | Not reported |
| May 19, 2024 | 2903 | Severe Storms (May 19-26 (Severe Storms)) | Thunderstorm Wind | Not reported |
| May 6, 2024 | 2902 | Severe Storms (May 6-9 (Severe Storms)) | Hail | Not reported |
| May 22, 2016 | 1191 | Severe Storms (May 22nd and continuing (Severe Storms)) | Tornado | Not reported |
Source: state executive order archives collected by DisasterData Plus, joined to NOAA Storm Events. See the Plus overview for per-state coverage and method.
Major disaster (DR). The big one. Opens the full toolbox: repair money for public infrastructure, help for households, and mitigation funding to reduce the next loss.
Emergency (EM). Narrower and usually faster, for protective work before or during an incident. Capped, and rarely brings household assistance. Nearly every county has one from COVID-19.
Fire management (FM). Cost sharing to fight a wildfire as it burns. Not a disaster declaration, and it does not open recovery programs.
Showing 25 declarations
| Date | Number | Type | Hazard | Title |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Sep 1, 2026 | DR-4940-KS | DR | Severe Storm | Severe Storms, Straight-Line Winds, Tornadoes, And Flooding |
| Sep 1, 2026 | DR-4943-KS | DR | Severe Storm | Severe Storms, Straight-Line Winds, Tornadoes, And Flooding |
| Dec 19, 2025 | DR-4897-KS | DR | Severe Storm | Severe Storms, Straight-Line Winds, And Flooding |
| Jul 22, 2025 | DR-4883-KS | DR | Severe Storm | Severe Storms, Straight-Line Winds, Tornadoes, And Flooding |
| May 21, 2025 | DR-4869-KS | DR | Severe Storm | Severe Winter Storm, Straight-Line Winds, Flooding, And Wildfires |
| Apr 28, 2024 | DR-4774-KS | DR | Winter Storm | Severe Winter Storm |
| Oct 26, 2023 | DR-4747-KS | DR | Severe Storm | Severe Storms, Straight-Line Winds, Tornadoes, And Flooding |
| May 25, 2022 | DR-4654-KS | DR | Snowstorm | Severe Winter Storms And Straight-Line Winds |
| Feb 17, 2022 | DR-4640-KS | DR | Severe Storm | Severe Storms And Straight Line Winds |
| Mar 29, 2020 | DR-4504-KS | DR | Biological | Covid-19 Pandemic |
| Mar 13, 2020 | EM-3481-KS | EM | Biological | Covid-19 |
| Jun 20, 2019 | DR-4449-KS | DR | Severe Storm | Severe Storms, Straight-Line Winds, Tornadoes, Flooding,Landslides,And Mudslides |
| Feb 24, 2017 | DR-4304-KS | DR | Severe Ice Storm | Severe Winter Storm |
| Jul 20, 2015 | DR-4230-KS | DR | Severe Storm | Severe Storms, Tornadoes, Straight-Line Winds, And Flooding |
| Oct 22, 2013 | DR-4150-KS | DR | Severe Storm | Severe Storms, Straight-Line Winds, Tornadoes, And Flooding |
| May 24, 2012 | DR-4063-KS | DR | Severe Storm | Severe Storms, Tornadoes, Straight-Line Winds, And Flooding |
| Jun 24, 2009 | DR-1848-KS | DR | Severe Storm | Severe Winter Storm And Record And Near Record Snow |
| Jul 9, 2008 | DR-1776-KS | DR | Severe Storm | Severe Storms, Flooding And Tornadoes |
| Feb 1, 2008 | DR-1741-KS | DR | Severe Storm | Severe Winter Storms |
| Dec 12, 2007 | EM-3282-KS | EM | Severe Storm | Severe Winter Storms |
| Jul 2, 2007 | DR-1711-KS | DR | Severe Storm | Severe Storms And Flooding |
| May 6, 2007 | DR-1699-KS | DR | Severe Storm | Severe Storms, Tornadoes, And Flooding |
| Jan 7, 2007 | DR-1675-KS | DR | Severe Storm | Severe Winter Storm |
| Jan 26, 2006 | DR-1626-KS | DR | Severe Storm | Severe Winter Storm |
| Sep 10, 2005 | EM-3236-KS | EM | Hurricane | Hurricane Katrina Evacuation |
Drawn from FEMA's OpenFEMA Disaster Declarations Summaries, rebuilt each week. A declaration is counted here once for each designated area it names, so a single disaster covering many localities is counted in each one. For that reason these jurisdiction counts do not sum to Kansas's statewide total. This page counts declarations that named this jurisdiction as a designated area. Totals cover complete fiscal years (Oct 1 to Sep 30). Declarations from the fiscal year still in progress are listed in the tables on this page but are not counted in the totals until the year is complete. Uses OpenFEMA data but is not endorsed by or affiliated with FEMA.
Choose a citation style, then copy the formatted citation. This profile is derived from FEMA OpenFEMA data and is updated as the underlying Disaster Data build is refreshed.