Disaster Data / States / Kansas / Washington County

County

Washington County, Kansas

Washington County recorded 12 federal major disaster declarations since FY2000 (through FY2026), the federal government's fullest response to an event. Alongside those sit 3 emergency declarations and 1 fire management declarations, 16 in all. Its most common hazard is severe storm.

Highlighted: Washington County, KS

Totals: FY2000 to FY2026 · Page last rebuilt Oct 26, 2026 · the current in-progress fiscal year is not included in totals

12
Major disasters
3
Emergency declarations
1
Fire management grants
16
All declarations on record
Sep 2026
Most recent
$3.7M
Federal PA obligated (top: roads and bridges)

The federal disaster record for Washington County runs between 2005 and 2026, covering 16 declarations in all. Its most recent major disaster declaration was Severe Storms, Straight-Line Winds, Tornadoes, And Flooding in 2026. The hazards behind these declarations were most often severe storm, biological, and hurricane. Since 2000, FEMA has obligated about $3.7 million in Public Assistance funding to the jurisdiction, most of it for roads and bridges.

Past 12 months

Recent declarations and aid so far

Washington County has been named in 1 federal declaration in the past 12 months. The figures are what FEMA has reported for Washington County to date and grow as recovery continues. It falls in a complete fiscal year and is counted in the totals above.

DeclarationDeclaredHouseholds approvedIndividual AssistancePublic Assistance obligated
DR-4940-KSMajor disaster · Severe StormSep 1, 2026Incident period Jun 4 to 15, 2026None reportedNone reportedNone reported yet

Individual Assistance is FEMA's Individuals and Households Program, from OpenFEMA's Housing Assistance data for owners and renters. Public Assistance is the obligated federal share from OpenFEMA's grant award activity, which usually starts posting weeks to months after a declaration. Select a declaration number to open its full event profile, with the same figures for every place it covers.

Risk and vulnerability context

Historical declarations show what has happened here. These national datasets add context about underlying natural-hazard risk and community vulnerability.

County FIPS 20201
CDC / ATSDR

Social Vulnerability Index

2022 county-level SVI
8.0
overall percentile nationally

Approximately 8.0% of U.S. counties have an equal or lower overall SVI ranking.

Socioeconomic status2.9
Household characteristics60.1
Racial and ethnic minority status19.3
Housing type and transportation11.3

Higher percentiles indicate greater relative social vulnerability within the CDC SVI framework. CDC SVI documentation

FEMA

National Risk Index

December 2025
15.6
overall risk score
Very Low
Expected annual loss$6.9MVery Low
NRI social vulnerability25.3Relatively Low
Community resilience69.5Relatively High

The NRI combines expected annual loss, social vulnerability, and community resilience to describe relative natural-hazard risk. FEMA NRI documentation

About these measures: CDC Social Vulnerability Index and FEMA National Risk Index Social Vulnerability are separate measures built with different methods. They are shown side by side for context and should not be interpreted as equivalent scores.

Federal Public Assistance obligated

$4M has been obligated to Washington County in Public Assistance since FY2000.

$4M followed major disasters other than COVID-19.

Obligated is the committed share, not necessarily spent, and can be revised as projects close out.

Federal Public Assistance by category

Federal share obligated to this jurisdiction under FEMA Public Assistance since 2000, grouped by damage category. Figures are rounded to the nearest dollar and reflect obligations, which may change as projects close out.

CategoryProjectsFederal share obligated
Roads and bridges(C)152$3,221,958
Debris removal(A)18$160,274
Utilities(F)9$136,335
Emergency protective measures(B)17$73,224
Buildings and equipment(E)5$24,651
Parks and recreation(G)2$20,008
Management costs(Z)13$16,614
All categories216$3,653,064

Recovery funding, how fast it came

For each disaster, the wait from the declaration to the first federal obligation (amber), then the federal share obligating after that (teal), on a shared 7-year scale. Typical wait to the first obligation here: about 147 days. An obligation is the federal share committed to the recipient state, not funds disbursed to the locality, which comes later and is not shown.

Severe Storms And Straight Line Winds 2022$30K
172 days to first federal obligation
Severe Storms, Straight-Line Winds, Tornadoes, Flooding,Landslides,And Mudslides 2019$707K
419 days to first federal obligation
Severe Storms, Tornadoes, Straight-Line Winds, And Flooding 2015$807K
155 days to first federal obligation
Severe Storms, Straight-Line Winds, Tornadoes, And Flooding 2013$79K
48 days to first federal obligation
Severe Storms, Straight-Line Winds, Tornadoes, And Flooding 2011$548K
140 days to first federal obligation
Severe Storms, Flooding, And Tornadoes 2010$197K
66 days to first federal obligation
Declared1 yr2 yr3 yr4 yr5 yr6 yr7 yr

Assistance to households (Individual Assistance)

FEMA Individual Assistance to households in this jurisdiction, combined across the Housing Assistance owner and renter programs. Valid registrations are households that applied within a designated Individual Assistance area; approved counts and dollars are the households FEMA found eligible under the Individuals and Households Program. Figures are self-reported and drawn from NEMIS through OpenFEMA, not audited, and Individual Assistance exists only for disasters where it was designated, so many jurisdictions show none.

17
valid registrations
11
households approved
$88,198
total IHP approved
Assistance typeApproved amount
Other needs$88,198

Hazard mitigation, what has been funded here

Federal Hazard Mitigation Assistance obligated to this jurisdiction to reduce future disaster losses, across the FEMA mitigation programs. This is the record of past mitigation investment a local hazard mitigation plan documents. Figures are federal share obligated, reported through OpenFEMA and not audited, and are separate from the Public Assistance funding above.

$44,385
federal mitigation share
2
funded projects
ProgramProjectsFederal share obligated
Hazard Mitigation Grant Program(HMGP)2$44,385

State declarations (governor)

Emergency declarations issued by the governor of this state, which are separate from and usually precede a federal declaration. A declaration is listed here when NOAA Storm Events recorded reports of the matched hazard in this jurisdiction while the order was in effect. That is evidence of local impact during a declared state emergency. It is not a statement that the governor named this jurisdiction in the order, since most state declarations apply statewide and name no localities at all. Hazard categories come from the order text. Damage figures are NOAA storm report estimates for this jurisdiction only, not the cost of the declaration.

3
state declarations with local storm evidence
51
statewide on record

Archive coverage for Kansas: 2009-present KDEM disaster-declarations page; 2000-2008 sits behind a JavaScript-loaded archive widget, backfill pending; Collection failed: Kansas adapter: scrape failed (Kansas: could not read https://www.kansastag.gov/388/Kansas-Disaster-Declarations: 403 Client Error: Forbidden for url: https://www.kansastag.gov/388/Kansas-Disaster-Declarations)

SignedOrderDeclarationHazards reported hereReported damage
May 14, 20264223Severe Weather (May 14 (Severe Weather))HailNot reported
Apr 10, 20264196Severe Weather (April 10 - April 13 (Severe Weather))HailNot reported
May 22, 20161191Severe Storms (May 22nd and continuing (Severe Storms))Thunderstorm WindNot reported

Source: state executive order archives collected by DisasterData Plus, joined to NOAA Storm Events. See the Plus overview for per-state coverage and method.

Most common hazards

Every declaration on record

Major disaster (DR). The big one. Opens the full toolbox: repair money for public infrastructure, help for households, and mitigation funding to reduce the next loss.

Emergency (EM). Narrower and usually faster, for protective work before or during an incident. Capped, and rarely brings household assistance. Nearly every county has one from COVID-19.

Fire management (FM). Cost sharing to fight a wildfire as it burns. Not a disaster declaration, and it does not open recovery programs.

Showing 16 declarations

DateNumberTypeHazardTitle
Sep 1, 2026DR-4940-KSDRSevere StormSevere Storms, Straight-Line Winds, Tornadoes, And Flooding
Apr 13, 2023FM-5463-KSFMFireHaddam Fire
Feb 17, 2022DR-4640-KSDRSevere StormSevere Storms And Straight Line Winds
Mar 29, 2020DR-4504-KSDRBiologicalCovid-19 Pandemic
Mar 13, 2020EM-3481-KSEMBiologicalCovid-19
Jun 20, 2019DR-4449-KSDRSevere StormSevere Storms, Straight-Line Winds, Tornadoes, Flooding,Landslides,And Mudslides
Jul 20, 2015DR-4230-KSDRSevere StormSevere Storms, Tornadoes, Straight-Line Winds, And Flooding
Oct 22, 2013DR-4150-KSDRSevere StormSevere Storms, Straight-Line Winds, Tornadoes, And Flooding
Jul 29, 2011DR-4010-KSDRSevere StormSevere Storms, Straight-Line Winds, Tornadoes, And Flooding
Aug 10, 2010DR-1932-KSDRSevere StormSevere Storms, Flooding, And Tornadoes
Mar 9, 2010DR-1885-KSDRSevere StormSevere Winter Storms And Snowstorm
Dec 23, 2009DR-1868-KSDRSevere StormSevere Winter Storm
Feb 1, 2008DR-1741-KSDRSevere StormSevere Winter Storms
Dec 12, 2007EM-3282-KSEMSevere StormSevere Winter Storms
May 6, 2007DR-1699-KSDRSevere StormSevere Storms, Tornadoes, And Flooding
Sep 10, 2005EM-3236-KSEMHurricaneHurricane Katrina Evacuation
← Kansas statewide overview · All Kansas jurisdictions

How these numbers are built

Drawn from FEMA's OpenFEMA Disaster Declarations Summaries, rebuilt each week. A declaration is counted here once for each designated area it names, so a single disaster covering many localities is counted in each one. For that reason these jurisdiction counts do not sum to Kansas's statewide total. This page counts declarations that named this jurisdiction as a designated area. Totals cover complete fiscal years (Oct 1 to Sep 30). Declarations from the fiscal year still in progress are listed in the tables on this page but are not counted in the totals until the year is complete. Uses OpenFEMA data but is not endorsed by or affiliated with FEMA.

Cite this profile

Choose a citation style, then copy the formatted citation. This profile is derived from FEMA OpenFEMA data and is updated as the underlying Disaster Data build is refreshed.

Other Kansas jurisdictions