Disaster Data / States / Kansas / Ottawa County

County

Ottawa County, Kansas

Ottawa County recorded 12 federal major disaster declarations since FY2000 (through FY2026), the federal government's fullest response to an event. Alongside those sit 3 emergency declarations and 0 fire management declarations, 15 in all. Its most common hazard is severe storm.

Highlighted: Ottawa County, KS

Totals: FY2000 to FY2026 · Page last rebuilt Oct 26, 2026 · the current in-progress fiscal year is not included in totals

12
Major disasters
3
Emergency declarations
0
Fire management grants
15
All declarations on record
Sep 2026
Most recent
$2.3M
Federal PA obligated (top: roads and bridges)

The federal disaster record for Ottawa County runs between 2005 and 2026, covering 15 declarations in all. Its most recent major disaster declaration was Severe Storms, Straight-Line Winds, Tornadoes, And Flooding in 2026. The hazards behind these declarations were most often severe storm, biological, and winter storm. Since 2000, FEMA has obligated about $2.3 million in Public Assistance funding to the jurisdiction, most of it for roads and bridges.

Past 12 months

Recent declarations and aid so far

Ottawa County has been named in 2 federal declarations in the past 12 months. The figures are what FEMA has reported for Ottawa County to date and grow as recovery continues. All of them fall in complete fiscal years and are counted in the totals above.

DeclarationDeclaredHouseholds approvedIndividual AssistancePublic Assistance obligated
DR-4940-KSMajor disaster · Severe StormSep 1, 2026Incident period Jun 4 to 15, 2026None reportedNone reportedNone reported yet
DR-4897-KSMajor disaster · Severe StormDec 19, 2025Incident period Jul 17 to 22, 2025None reportedNone reportedNone reported yet

Individual Assistance is FEMA's Individuals and Households Program, from OpenFEMA's Housing Assistance data for owners and renters. Public Assistance is the obligated federal share from OpenFEMA's grant award activity, which usually starts posting weeks to months after a declaration. Select a declaration number to open its full event profile, with the same figures for every place it covers.

Risk and vulnerability context

Historical declarations show what has happened here. These national datasets add context about underlying natural-hazard risk and community vulnerability.

County FIPS 20143
CDC / ATSDR

Social Vulnerability Index

2022 county-level SVI
4.2
overall percentile nationally

Approximately 4.2% of U.S. counties have an equal or lower overall SVI ranking.

Socioeconomic status13.4
Household characteristics18.2
Racial and ethnic minority status14.1
Housing type and transportation2.3

Higher percentiles indicate greater relative social vulnerability within the CDC SVI framework. CDC SVI documentation

FEMA

National Risk Index

December 2025
16.9
overall risk score
Very Low
Expected annual loss$6.8MVery Low
NRI social vulnerability33.2Relatively Low
Community resilience63.0Relatively High

The NRI combines expected annual loss, social vulnerability, and community resilience to describe relative natural-hazard risk. FEMA NRI documentation

About these measures: CDC Social Vulnerability Index and FEMA National Risk Index Social Vulnerability are separate measures built with different methods. They are shown side by side for context and should not be interpreted as equivalent scores.

Federal Public Assistance obligated

$2M has been obligated to Ottawa County in Public Assistance since FY2000.

$2M followed major disasters other than COVID-19. $1 appears in FEMA's county totals but is not tied to a single declaration in the obligation timing file, so it is left unattributed here rather than assigned to a type.

Obligated is the committed share, not necessarily spent, and can be revised as projects close out.

Federal Public Assistance by category

Federal share obligated to this jurisdiction under FEMA Public Assistance since 2000, grouped by damage category. Figures are rounded to the nearest dollar and reflect obligations, which may change as projects close out.

CategoryProjectsFederal share obligated
Roads and bridges(C)48$1,906,835
Debris removal(A)14$185,711
Parks and recreation(G)5$63,676
Utilities(F)5$61,435
Management costs(Z)9$45,604
Emergency protective measures(B)14$41,463
Buildings and equipment(E)1$5,907
All categories96$2,310,631

Recovery funding, how fast it came

For each disaster, the wait from the declaration to the first federal obligation (amber), then the federal share obligating after that (teal), on a shared 3-year scale. Typical wait to the first obligation here: about 304 days. An obligation is the federal share committed to the recipient state, not funds disbursed to the locality, which comes later and is not shown.

Severe Storm, Straight-Line Winds, Tornadoes, And Flooding 2024$121K
393 days to first federal obligation
Severe Winter Storm 2024$312K
283 days to first federal obligation
Severe Storms And Straight Line Winds 2022$57K
183 days to first federal obligation
Severe Storms, Straight-Line Winds, Tornadoes, Flooding,Landslides,And Mudslides 2019$335K
662 days to first federal obligation
Severe Storms, Straight-Line Winds, And Flooding 2019$131K
326 days to first federal obligation
Severe Storms, Straight-Line Winds, Tornadoes, And Flooding 2013$473K
276 days to first federal obligation
Declared1 yr2 yr3 yr

Assistance to households (Individual Assistance)

FEMA Individual Assistance to households in this jurisdiction, combined across the Housing Assistance owner and renter programs. Valid registrations are households that applied within a designated Individual Assistance area; approved counts and dollars are the households FEMA found eligible under the Individuals and Households Program. Figures are self-reported and drawn from NEMIS through OpenFEMA, not audited, and Individual Assistance exists only for disasters where it was designated, so many jurisdictions show none.

57
valid registrations
25
households approved
$126,995
total IHP approved
Assistance typeApproved amount
Repair and replacement$64,710
Rental assistance$2,396
Other needs$59,889

Hazard mitigation, what has been funded here

Federal Hazard Mitigation Assistance obligated to this jurisdiction to reduce future disaster losses, across the FEMA mitigation programs. This is the record of past mitigation investment a local hazard mitigation plan documents. Figures are federal share obligated, reported through OpenFEMA and not audited, and are separate from the Public Assistance funding above.

$49,558
federal mitigation share
3
funded projects
1
property mitigated
ProgramProjectsFederal share obligated
Pre-Disaster Mitigation(PDM)2$30,700
Hazard Mitigation Grant Program(HMGP)1$18,858

State declarations (governor)

Emergency declarations issued by the governor of this state, which are separate from and usually precede a federal declaration. A declaration is listed here when NOAA Storm Events recorded reports of the matched hazard in this jurisdiction while the order was in effect. That is evidence of local impact during a declared state emergency. It is not a statement that the governor named this jurisdiction in the order, since most state declarations apply statewide and name no localities at all. Hazard categories come from the order text. Damage figures are NOAA storm report estimates for this jurisdiction only, not the cost of the declaration.

5
state declarations with local storm evidence
51
statewide on record

Archive coverage for Kansas: 2009-present KDEM disaster-declarations page; 2000-2008 sits behind a JavaScript-loaded archive widget, backfill pending; Collection failed: Kansas adapter: scrape failed (Kansas: could not read https://www.kansastag.gov/388/Kansas-Disaster-Declarations: 403 Client Error: Forbidden for url: https://www.kansastag.gov/388/Kansas-Disaster-Declarations)

SignedOrderDeclarationHazards reported hereReported damage
May 14, 20264223Severe Weather (May 14 (Severe Weather))Flash Flood, Hail, Thunderstorm WindNot reported
Sep 8, 20254023Flooding (September 8 - September 12 (Flooding))Flood$4,790,000
Jun 18, 20254001Severe Storms (June 18 - 22 (Severe Storms))Thunderstorm WindNot reported
May 19, 20242903Severe Storms (May 19-26 (Severe Storms))Hail, Thunderstorm WindNot reported
May 22, 20161191Severe Storms (May 22nd and continuing (Severe Storms))Hail, TornadoNot reported

Source: state executive order archives collected by DisasterData Plus, joined to NOAA Storm Events. See the Plus overview for per-state coverage and method.

Most common hazards

Every declaration on record

Major disaster (DR). The big one. Opens the full toolbox: repair money for public infrastructure, help for households, and mitigation funding to reduce the next loss.

Emergency (EM). Narrower and usually faster, for protective work before or during an incident. Capped, and rarely brings household assistance. Nearly every county has one from COVID-19.

Fire management (FM). Cost sharing to fight a wildfire as it burns. Not a disaster declaration, and it does not open recovery programs.

Showing 15 declarations

DateNumberTypeHazardTitle
Sep 1, 2026DR-4940-KSDRSevere StormSevere Storms, Straight-Line Winds, Tornadoes, And Flooding
Dec 19, 2025DR-4897-KSDRSevere StormSevere Storms, Straight-Line Winds, And Flooding
Aug 20, 2024DR-4811-KSDRSevere StormSevere Storm, Straight-Line Winds, Tornadoes, And Flooding
Apr 28, 2024DR-4774-KSDRWinter StormSevere Winter Storm
Feb 17, 2022DR-4640-KSDRSevere StormSevere Storms And Straight Line Winds
Mar 29, 2020DR-4504-KSDRBiologicalCovid-19 Pandemic
Mar 13, 2020EM-3481-KSEMBiologicalCovid-19
Jun 20, 2019DR-4449-KSDRSevere StormSevere Storms, Straight-Line Winds, Tornadoes, Flooding,Landslides,And Mudslides
Feb 25, 2019DR-4417-KSDRSevere StormSevere Storms, Straight-Line Winds, And Flooding
Oct 22, 2013DR-4150-KSDRSevere StormSevere Storms, Straight-Line Winds, Tornadoes, And Flooding
Jul 29, 2011DR-4010-KSDRSevere StormSevere Storms, Straight-Line Winds, Tornadoes, And Flooding
Feb 1, 2008DR-1741-KSDRSevere StormSevere Winter Storms
Dec 12, 2007EM-3282-KSEMSevere StormSevere Winter Storms
May 6, 2007DR-1699-KSDRSevere StormSevere Storms, Tornadoes, And Flooding
Sep 10, 2005EM-3236-KSEMHurricaneHurricane Katrina Evacuation
← Kansas statewide overview · All Kansas jurisdictions

How these numbers are built

Drawn from FEMA's OpenFEMA Disaster Declarations Summaries, rebuilt each week. A declaration is counted here once for each designated area it names, so a single disaster covering many localities is counted in each one. For that reason these jurisdiction counts do not sum to Kansas's statewide total. This page counts declarations that named this jurisdiction as a designated area. Totals cover complete fiscal years (Oct 1 to Sep 30). Declarations from the fiscal year still in progress are listed in the tables on this page but are not counted in the totals until the year is complete. Uses OpenFEMA data but is not endorsed by or affiliated with FEMA.

Cite this profile

Choose a citation style, then copy the formatted citation. This profile is derived from FEMA OpenFEMA data and is updated as the underlying Disaster Data build is refreshed.

Other Kansas jurisdictions