Disaster Data / States / Kansas / Ness County

County

Ness County, Kansas

Ness County recorded 14 federal major disaster declarations since FY2000 (through FY2026), the federal government's fullest response to an event. Alongside those sit 3 emergency declarations and 1 fire management declarations, 18 in all. Its most common hazard is severe storm.

Highlighted: Ness County, KS

Totals: FY2000 to FY2026 · Page last rebuilt Oct 26, 2026 · the current in-progress fiscal year is not included in totals

14
Major disasters
3
Emergency declarations
1
Fire management grants
18
All declarations on record
Sep 2026
Most recent
$443K
Federal PA obligated (top: roads and bridges)

The federal disaster record for Ness County runs between 2004 and 2026, covering 18 declarations in all. Its most recent major disaster declaration was Severe Storms, Straight-Line Winds, Tornadoes, And Flooding in 2026. The hazards behind these declarations were most often severe storm, snowstorm, and biological. Since 2000, FEMA has obligated $442,921 in Public Assistance funding to the jurisdiction, most of it for roads and bridges.

Past 12 months

Recent declarations and aid so far

Ness County has been named in 2 federal declarations in the past 12 months. The figures are what FEMA has reported for Ness County to date and grow as recovery continues. All of them fall in complete fiscal years and are counted in the totals above.

DeclarationDeclaredHouseholds approvedIndividual AssistancePublic Assistance obligated
DR-4940-KSMajor disaster · Severe StormSep 1, 2026Incident period Jun 4 to 15, 2026None reportedNone reportedNone reported yet
DR-4943-KSMajor disaster · Severe StormSep 1, 2026Incident period Jun 18 to 30, 2026None reportedNone reportedNone reported yet

Individual Assistance is FEMA's Individuals and Households Program, from OpenFEMA's Housing Assistance data for owners and renters. Public Assistance is the obligated federal share from OpenFEMA's grant award activity, which usually starts posting weeks to months after a declaration. Select a declaration number to open its full event profile, with the same figures for every place it covers.

Risk and vulnerability context

Historical declarations show what has happened here. These national datasets add context about underlying natural-hazard risk and community vulnerability.

County FIPS 20135
CDC / ATSDR

Social Vulnerability Index

2022 county-level SVI
10.0
overall percentile nationally

Approximately 10.0% of U.S. counties have an equal or lower overall SVI ranking.

Socioeconomic status11.3
Household characteristics48.6
Racial and ethnic minority status49.7
Housing type and transportation2.7

Higher percentiles indicate greater relative social vulnerability within the CDC SVI framework. CDC SVI documentation

FEMA

National Risk Index

December 2025
10.5
overall risk score
Very Low
Expected annual loss$4.7MVery Low
NRI social vulnerability46.4Relatively Moderate
Community resilience58.2Relatively Moderate

The NRI combines expected annual loss, social vulnerability, and community resilience to describe relative natural-hazard risk. FEMA NRI documentation

About these measures: CDC Social Vulnerability Index and FEMA National Risk Index Social Vulnerability are separate measures built with different methods. They are shown side by side for context and should not be interpreted as equivalent scores.

Federal Public Assistance obligated

$443K has been obligated to Ness County in Public Assistance since FY2000.

$443K followed major disasters other than COVID-19.

Obligated is the committed share, not necessarily spent, and can be revised as projects close out.

Federal Public Assistance by category

Federal share obligated to this jurisdiction under FEMA Public Assistance since 2000, grouped by damage category. Figures are rounded to the nearest dollar and reflect obligations, which may change as projects close out.

CategoryProjectsFederal share obligated
Roads and bridges(C)4$291,695
Debris removal(A)7$49,790
Emergency protective measures(B)12$47,937
Buildings and equipment(E)3$47,090
Parks and recreation(G)1$3,935
Management costs(Z)1$2,474
All categories28$442,921

Recovery funding, how fast it came

For each disaster, the wait from the declaration to the first federal obligation (amber), then the federal share obligating after that (teal), on a shared 3-year scale. Typical wait to the first obligation here: about 42 days. An obligation is the federal share committed to the recipient state, not funds disbursed to the locality, which comes later and is not shown.

Severe Storms And Straight Line Winds 2022$47K
377 days to first federal obligation
Severe Storms, Straight-Line Winds, Tornadoes, And Flooding 2013$14K
57 days to first federal obligation
Snowstorm 2013$30K
41 days to first federal obligation
Severe Storms, Flooding And Tornadoes 2008$34K
42 days to first federal obligation
Severe Winter Storm 2007$317K
30 days to first federal obligation
Declared1 yr2 yr3 yr

Assistance to households (Individual Assistance)

FEMA Individual Assistance to households in this jurisdiction, combined across the Housing Assistance owner and renter programs. Valid registrations are households that applied within a designated Individual Assistance area; approved counts and dollars are the households FEMA found eligible under the Individuals and Households Program. Figures are self-reported and drawn from NEMIS through OpenFEMA, not audited, and Individual Assistance exists only for disasters where it was designated, so many jurisdictions show none.

8
valid registrations
7
households approved
$54,180
total IHP approved
Assistance typeApproved amount
Other needs$54,180

Hazard mitigation, what has been funded here

Federal Hazard Mitigation Assistance obligated to this jurisdiction to reduce future disaster losses, across the FEMA mitigation programs. This is the record of past mitigation investment a local hazard mitigation plan documents. Figures are federal share obligated, reported through OpenFEMA and not audited, and are separate from the Public Assistance funding above.

$33,819
federal mitigation share
1
funded project
ProgramProjectsFederal share obligated
Hazard Mitigation Grant Program(HMGP)1$33,819

State declarations (governor)

Emergency declarations issued by the governor of this state, which are separate from and usually precede a federal declaration. A declaration is listed here when NOAA Storm Events recorded reports of the matched hazard in this jurisdiction while the order was in effect. That is evidence of local impact during a declared state emergency. It is not a statement that the governor named this jurisdiction in the order, since most state declarations apply statewide and name no localities at all. Hazard categories come from the order text. Damage figures are NOAA storm report estimates for this jurisdiction only, not the cost of the declaration.

3
state declarations with local storm evidence
51
statewide on record

Archive coverage for Kansas: 2009-present KDEM disaster-declarations page; 2000-2008 sits behind a JavaScript-loaded archive widget, backfill pending; Collection failed: Kansas adapter: scrape failed (Kansas: could not read https://www.kansastag.gov/388/Kansas-Disaster-Declarations: 403 Client Error: Forbidden for url: https://www.kansastag.gov/388/Kansas-Disaster-Declarations)

SignedOrderDeclarationHazards reported hereReported damage
May 18, 20253905Severe Storms (May 18 - 19 (Severe Storms))Hail, Thunderstorm WindNot reported
May 19, 20242903Severe Storms (May 19-26 (Severe Storms))Thunderstorm WindNot reported
May 22, 20161191Severe Storms (May 22nd and continuing (Severe Storms))Hail, Thunderstorm Wind, TornadoNot reported

Source: state executive order archives collected by DisasterData Plus, joined to NOAA Storm Events. See the Plus overview for per-state coverage and method.

Most common hazards

Every declaration on record

Major disaster (DR). The big one. Opens the full toolbox: repair money for public infrastructure, help for households, and mitigation funding to reduce the next loss.

Emergency (EM). Narrower and usually faster, for protective work before or during an incident. Capped, and rarely brings household assistance. Nearly every county has one from COVID-19.

Fire management (FM). Cost sharing to fight a wildfire as it burns. Not a disaster declaration, and it does not open recovery programs.

Showing 18 declarations

DateNumberTypeHazardTitle
Sep 1, 2026DR-4940-KSDRSevere StormSevere Storms, Straight-Line Winds, Tornadoes, And Flooding
Sep 1, 2026DR-4943-KSDRSevere StormSevere Storms, Straight-Line Winds, Tornadoes, And Flooding
May 21, 2025DR-4869-KSDRSevere StormSevere Winter Storm, Straight-Line Winds, Flooding, And Wildfires
May 25, 2022DR-4654-KSDRSnowstormSevere Winter Storms And Straight-Line Winds
Feb 17, 2022DR-4640-KSDRSevere StormSevere Storms And Straight Line Winds
Mar 29, 2020DR-4504-KSDRBiologicalCovid-19 Pandemic
Mar 13, 2020EM-3481-KSEMBiologicalCovid-19
Jun 20, 2019DR-4449-KSDRSevere StormSevere Storms, Straight-Line Winds, Tornadoes, Flooding,Landslides,And Mudslides
Mar 6, 2017FM-5174-KSFMFireNess County Fire
Feb 24, 2017DR-4304-KSDRSevere Ice StormSevere Winter Storm
Oct 22, 2013DR-4150-KSDRSevere StormSevere Storms, Straight-Line Winds, Tornadoes, And Flooding
Apr 26, 2013DR-4112-KSDRSnowstormSnowstorm
Jul 9, 2008DR-1776-KSDRSevere StormSevere Storms, Flooding And Tornadoes
Dec 12, 2007EM-3282-KSEMSevere StormSevere Winter Storms
Jan 7, 2007DR-1675-KSDRSevere StormSevere Winter Storm
Jan 26, 2006DR-1626-KSDRSevere StormSevere Winter Storm
Sep 10, 2005EM-3236-KSEMHurricaneHurricane Katrina Evacuation
Aug 3, 2004DR-1535-KSDRSevere StormSevere Storms, Flooding, And Tornadoes
← Kansas statewide overview · All Kansas jurisdictions

How these numbers are built

Drawn from FEMA's OpenFEMA Disaster Declarations Summaries, rebuilt each week. A declaration is counted here once for each designated area it names, so a single disaster covering many localities is counted in each one. For that reason these jurisdiction counts do not sum to Kansas's statewide total. This page counts declarations that named this jurisdiction as a designated area. Totals cover complete fiscal years (Oct 1 to Sep 30). Declarations from the fiscal year still in progress are listed in the tables on this page but are not counted in the totals until the year is complete. Uses OpenFEMA data but is not endorsed by or affiliated with FEMA.

Cite this profile

Choose a citation style, then copy the formatted citation. This profile is derived from FEMA OpenFEMA data and is updated as the underlying Disaster Data build is refreshed.

Other Kansas jurisdictions