Disaster Data / States / Kansas / Pottawatomie County

County

Pottawatomie County, Kansas

Pottawatomie County recorded 11 federal major disaster declarations since FY2000 (through FY2026), the federal government's fullest response to an event. Alongside those sit 4 emergency declarations and 0 fire management declarations, 15 in all. Its most common hazard is severe storm.

Highlighted: Pottawatomie County, KS

Totals: FY2000 to FY2026 · Page last rebuilt Oct 26, 2026 · the current in-progress fiscal year is not included in totals

11
Major disasters
4
Emergency declarations
0
Fire management grants
15
All declarations on record
Sep 2026
Most recent
$16.5M
Federal PA obligated (top: utilities)

The federal disaster record for Pottawatomie County runs between 2005 and 2026, covering 15 declarations in all. Its most recent major disaster declaration was Severe Storms, Straight-Line Winds, Tornadoes, And Flooding in 2026. The hazards behind these declarations were most often severe storm, biological, and hurricane. Since 2000, FEMA has obligated about $16.5 million in Public Assistance funding to the jurisdiction, most of it for utilities.

Past 12 months

Recent declarations and aid so far

Pottawatomie County has been named in 1 federal declaration in the past 12 months. The figures are what FEMA has reported for Pottawatomie County to date and grow as recovery continues. It falls in a complete fiscal year and is counted in the totals above.

DeclarationDeclaredHouseholds approvedIndividual AssistancePublic Assistance obligated
DR-4940-KSMajor disaster · Severe StormSep 1, 2026Incident period Jun 4 to 15, 2026None reportedNone reportedNone reported yet

Individual Assistance is FEMA's Individuals and Households Program, from OpenFEMA's Housing Assistance data for owners and renters. Public Assistance is the obligated federal share from OpenFEMA's grant award activity, which usually starts posting weeks to months after a declaration. Select a declaration number to open its full event profile, with the same figures for every place it covers.

Risk and vulnerability context

Historical declarations show what has happened here. These national datasets add context about underlying natural-hazard risk and community vulnerability.

County FIPS 20149
CDC / ATSDR

Social Vulnerability Index

2022 county-level SVI
5.4
overall percentile nationally

Approximately 5.4% of U.S. counties have an equal or lower overall SVI ranking.

Socioeconomic status1.9
Household characteristics9.9
Racial and ethnic minority status33.2
Housing type and transportation28.9

Higher percentiles indicate greater relative social vulnerability within the CDC SVI framework. CDC SVI documentation

FEMA

National Risk Index

December 2025
30.9
overall risk score
Very Low
Expected annual loss$15.8MRelatively Low
NRI social vulnerability10.6Very Low
Community resilience84.6Very High

The NRI combines expected annual loss, social vulnerability, and community resilience to describe relative natural-hazard risk. FEMA NRI documentation

About these measures: CDC Social Vulnerability Index and FEMA National Risk Index Social Vulnerability are separate measures built with different methods. They are shown side by side for context and should not be interpreted as equivalent scores.

Federal Public Assistance obligated

$17M has been obligated to Pottawatomie County in Public Assistance since FY2000.

$12M followed major disasters other than COVID-19. $5M appears in FEMA's county totals but is not tied to a single declaration in the obligation timing file, so it is left unattributed here rather than assigned to a type.

Obligated is the committed share, not necessarily spent, and can be revised as projects close out.

Federal Public Assistance by category

Federal share obligated to this jurisdiction under FEMA Public Assistance since 2000, grouped by damage category. Figures are rounded to the nearest dollar and reflect obligations, which may change as projects close out.

CategoryProjectsFederal share obligated
Utilities(F)19$13,019,375
Roads and bridges(C)22$1,598,144
Debris removal(A)17$580,262
Buildings and equipment(E)6$532,219
Water control facilities(D)3$367,674
Emergency protective measures(B)31$233,081
Parks and recreation(G)5$182,941
Management costs(Z)4$18,305
All categories107$16,532,001

Recovery funding, how fast it came

For each disaster, the wait from the declaration to the first federal obligation (amber), then the federal share obligating after that (teal), on a shared 8-year scale. Typical wait to the first obligation here: about 211 days. An obligation is the federal share committed to the recipient state, not funds disbursed to the locality, which comes later and is not shown.

Severe Storms, Straight-Line Winds, Tornadoes, And Flooding 2024$914K
282 days to first federal obligation
DR-4640 2022$141K
714 days to first federal obligation
Severe Storms, Straight-Line Winds, Tornadoes, Flooding,Landslides,And Mudslides 2019$1.5M
410 days to first federal obligation
Severe Storms, Tornadoes, Straight-Line Winds, And Flooding 2015$471K
123 days to first federal obligation
Severe Storms, Straight-Line Winds, Tornadoes, And Flooding 2011$295K
140 days to first federal obligation
Severe Storms, Flooding, And Tornadoes 2010$311K
48 days to first federal obligation
Declared1 yr2 yr3 yr4 yr5 yr6 yr7 yr8 yr

Assistance to households (Individual Assistance)

FEMA Individual Assistance to households in this jurisdiction, combined across the Housing Assistance owner and renter programs. Valid registrations are households that applied within a designated Individual Assistance area; approved counts and dollars are the households FEMA found eligible under the Individuals and Households Program. Figures are self-reported and drawn from NEMIS through OpenFEMA, not audited, and Individual Assistance exists only for disasters where it was designated, so many jurisdictions show none.

51
valid registrations
39
households approved
$200,724
total IHP approved
Assistance typeApproved amount
Repair and replacement$31,126
Rental assistance$2,053
Other needs$167,118

Hazard mitigation, what has been funded here

Federal Hazard Mitigation Assistance obligated to this jurisdiction to reduce future disaster losses, across the FEMA mitigation programs. This is the record of past mitigation investment a local hazard mitigation plan documents. Figures are federal share obligated, reported through OpenFEMA and not audited, and are separate from the Public Assistance funding above.

$636,145
federal mitigation share
3
funded projects
1
property mitigated
ProgramProjectsFederal share obligated
Hazard Mitigation Grant Program(HMGP)3$636,145

State declarations (governor)

Emergency declarations issued by the governor of this state, which are separate from and usually precede a federal declaration. A declaration is listed here when NOAA Storm Events recorded reports of the matched hazard in this jurisdiction while the order was in effect. That is evidence of local impact during a declared state emergency. It is not a statement that the governor named this jurisdiction in the order, since most state declarations apply statewide and name no localities at all. Hazard categories come from the order text. Damage figures are NOAA storm report estimates for this jurisdiction only, not the cost of the declaration.

4
state declarations with local storm evidence
51
statewide on record

Archive coverage for Kansas: 2009-present KDEM disaster-declarations page; 2000-2008 sits behind a JavaScript-loaded archive widget, backfill pending; Collection failed: Kansas adapter: scrape failed (Kansas: could not read https://www.kansastag.gov/388/Kansas-Disaster-Declarations: 403 Client Error: Forbidden for url: https://www.kansastag.gov/388/Kansas-Disaster-Declarations)

SignedOrderDeclarationHazards reported hereReported damage
Jun 2, 20264263Severe Weather & Flooding (June 2 - June 18 (Severe Weather & Flooding))Flash Flood$13,000
May 18, 20253905Severe Storms (May 18 - 19 (Severe Storms))Hail, Thunderstorm WindNot reported
May 6, 20242902Severe Storms (May 6-9 (Severe Storms))HailNot reported
Jul 22, 20171187Wind and Flooding (July 22-27 (Wind and Flooding))Thunderstorm WindNot reported

Source: state executive order archives collected by DisasterData Plus, joined to NOAA Storm Events. See the Plus overview for per-state coverage and method.

Most common hazards

Every declaration on record

Major disaster (DR). The big one. Opens the full toolbox: repair money for public infrastructure, help for households, and mitigation funding to reduce the next loss.

Emergency (EM). Narrower and usually faster, for protective work before or during an incident. Capped, and rarely brings household assistance. Nearly every county has one from COVID-19.

Fire management (FM). Cost sharing to fight a wildfire as it burns. Not a disaster declaration, and it does not open recovery programs.

Showing 15 declarations

DateNumberTypeHazardTitle
Sep 1, 2026DR-4940-KSDRSevere StormSevere Storms, Straight-Line Winds, Tornadoes, And Flooding
Jul 15, 2024DR-4800-KSDRSevere StormSevere Storms, Straight-Line Winds, Tornadoes, And Flooding
Mar 29, 2020DR-4504-KSDRBiologicalCovid-19 Pandemic
Mar 13, 2020EM-3481-KSEMBiologicalCovid-19
Jun 20, 2019DR-4449-KSDRSevere StormSevere Storms, Straight-Line Winds, Tornadoes, Flooding,Landslides,And Mudslides
May 28, 2019EM-3412-KSEMSevere StormTornadoes And Flooding
Jul 20, 2015DR-4230-KSDRSevere StormSevere Storms, Tornadoes, Straight-Line Winds, And Flooding
Jul 29, 2011DR-4010-KSDRSevere StormSevere Storms, Straight-Line Winds, Tornadoes, And Flooding
Aug 10, 2010DR-1932-KSDRSevere StormSevere Storms, Flooding, And Tornadoes
Mar 9, 2010DR-1885-KSDRSevere StormSevere Winter Storms And Snowstorm
Feb 1, 2008DR-1741-KSDRSevere StormSevere Winter Storms
Dec 12, 2007EM-3282-KSEMSevere StormSevere Winter Storms
May 6, 2007DR-1699-KSDRSevere StormSevere Storms, Tornadoes, And Flooding
Sep 10, 2005EM-3236-KSEMHurricaneHurricane Katrina Evacuation
Feb 8, 2005DR-1579-KSDRSevere StormSevere Winter Storms, Heavy Rains, And Flooding
← Kansas statewide overview · All Kansas jurisdictions

How these numbers are built

Drawn from FEMA's OpenFEMA Disaster Declarations Summaries, rebuilt each week. A declaration is counted here once for each designated area it names, so a single disaster covering many localities is counted in each one. For that reason these jurisdiction counts do not sum to Kansas's statewide total. This page counts declarations that named this jurisdiction as a designated area. Totals cover complete fiscal years (Oct 1 to Sep 30). Declarations from the fiscal year still in progress are listed in the tables on this page but are not counted in the totals until the year is complete. Uses OpenFEMA data but is not endorsed by or affiliated with FEMA.

Cite this profile

Choose a citation style, then copy the formatted citation. This profile is derived from FEMA OpenFEMA data and is updated as the underlying Disaster Data build is refreshed.

Other Kansas jurisdictions