Disaster Data / States / North Carolina / Davie County

County

Davie County, North Carolina

Davie County recorded 5 federal major disaster declarations since FY2000 (through FY2026), the federal government's fullest response to an event. Alongside those sit 10 emergency declarations and 0 fire management declarations, 15 in all. Its most common hazard is hurricane.

Highlighted: Davie County, NC

Totals: FY2000 to FY2026 · Page last rebuilt Oct 26, 2026 · the current in-progress fiscal year is not included in totals

5
Major disasters
10
Emergency declarations
0
Fire management grants
15
All declarations on record
Jan 2026
Most recent
$7.4M
Federal PA obligated (top: utilities)

The federal disaster record for Davie County runs between 2002 and 2026, covering 15 declarations in all. Its most recent major disaster declaration was Tropical Storm Eta in 2021. The hazards behind these declarations were most often hurricane, severe ice storm, and biological. Since 2000, FEMA has obligated about $7.4 million in Public Assistance funding to the jurisdiction, most of it for utilities.

Past 12 months

Recent declarations and aid so far

Davie County has been named in 1 federal declaration in the past 12 months. The figures are what FEMA has reported for Davie County to date and grow as recovery continues. It falls in a complete fiscal year and is counted in the totals above.

DeclarationDeclaredHouseholds approvedIndividual AssistancePublic Assistance obligated
EM-3637-NCEmergency · Winter StormJan 24, 2026Incident period Jan 21 to 27, 2026None reportedNone reportedNone reported yet

Individual Assistance is FEMA's Individuals and Households Program, from OpenFEMA's Housing Assistance data for owners and renters. Public Assistance is the obligated federal share from OpenFEMA's grant award activity, which usually starts posting weeks to months after a declaration. Select a declaration number to open its full event profile, with the same figures for every place it covers.

Risk and vulnerability context

Historical declarations show what has happened here. These national datasets add context about underlying natural-hazard risk and community vulnerability.

County FIPS 37059
CDC / ATSDR

Social Vulnerability Index

2022 county-level SVI
40.6
overall percentile nationally

Approximately 40.6% of U.S. counties have an equal or lower overall SVI ranking.

Socioeconomic status36.6
Household characteristics55.2
Racial and ethnic minority status46.6
Housing type and transportation36.7

Higher percentiles indicate greater relative social vulnerability within the CDC SVI framework. CDC SVI documentation

FEMA

National Risk Index

December 2025
41.7
overall risk score
Very Low
Expected annual loss$13.1MVery Low
NRI social vulnerability37.2Relatively Low
Community resilience45.2Relatively Moderate

The NRI combines expected annual loss, social vulnerability, and community resilience to describe relative natural-hazard risk. FEMA NRI documentation

About these measures: CDC Social Vulnerability Index and FEMA National Risk Index Social Vulnerability are separate measures built with different methods. They are shown side by side for context and should not be interpreted as equivalent scores.

Federal Public Assistance obligated

$7M has been obligated to Davie County in Public Assistance since FY2000.

$7M followed major disasters other than COVID-19. $71K, or 1% of the total, was COVID-19, which every county in the country received.

Obligated is the committed share, not necessarily spent, and can be revised as projects close out.

Federal Public Assistance by category

Federal share obligated to this jurisdiction under FEMA Public Assistance since 2000, grouped by damage category. Figures are rounded to the nearest dollar and reflect obligations, which may change as projects close out.

CategoryProjectsFederal share obligated
Utilities(F)7$6,361,818
Debris removal(A)9$465,591
Management costs(Z)2$380,213
Emergency protective measures(B)13$182,319
Buildings and equipment(E)4$26,304
All categories35$7,416,245

Recovery funding, how fast it came

For each disaster, the wait from the declaration to the first federal obligation (amber), then the federal share obligating after that (teal), on a shared 9-year scale. Typical wait to the first obligation here: about 80 days. An obligation is the federal share committed to the recipient state, not funds disbursed to the locality, which comes later and is not shown.

Tropical Storm Eta 2021$7.1M
99 days to first federal obligation
Covid-19 Pandemic 2020$71K
72 days to first federal obligation
Tropical Storm Michael 2019$91K
252 days to first federal obligation
Severe Winter Storm 2014$101K
80 days to first federal obligation
Severe Ice Storm 2002$42K
54 days to first federal obligation
Declared1 yr2 yr3 yr4 yr5 yr6 yr7 yr8 yr9 yr

Assistance to households (Individual Assistance)

FEMA Individual Assistance to households in this jurisdiction, combined across the Housing Assistance owner and renter programs. Valid registrations are households that applied within a designated Individual Assistance area; approved counts and dollars are the households FEMA found eligible under the Individuals and Households Program. Figures are self-reported and drawn from NEMIS through OpenFEMA, not audited, and Individual Assistance exists only for disasters where it was designated, so many jurisdictions show none.

28
valid registrations
22
households approved
$144,902
total IHP approved
Assistance typeApproved amount
Other needs$144,902

State declarations (governor)

Emergency declarations issued by the governor of this state, which are separate from and usually precede a federal declaration. A declaration is listed here when NOAA Storm Events recorded reports of the matched hazard in this jurisdiction while the order was in effect. That is evidence of local impact during a declared state emergency. It is not a statement that the governor named this jurisdiction in the order, since most state declarations apply statewide and name no localities at all. Hazard categories come from the order text. Damage figures are NOAA storm report estimates for this jurisdiction only, not the cost of the declaration.

6
state declarations with local storm evidence
56
statewide on record

Archive coverage for North Carolina: 2017-01-06-present structured Governor archive; North Carolina Register backfill pending

SignedOrderDeclarationHazards reported hereReported damage
Sep 25, 2024315DECLARATION OF A STATEWIDE STATE OF EMERGENCY AND TEMPORARY WAIVER AND SUSPENSION OF MOTOR VE ID CLE REGULATIONSThunderstorm WindNot reported
Sep 1, 2023286DISASTER DECLARATION FOR THE CITY OF NEWTON IN CATA WBA COUNTYThunderstorm WindNot reported
Dec 15, 2020182STATE TYPE I DISASTER DECLARATION FOR INDIVIDUAL ASSISTANCE FOR ALEXANDER COUNTYFlood$75,000
Nov 13, 2020178DECLARATION OF A STATE OF EMERGENCYFlood$75,000
Feb 7, 2020115Executive Order No. 115Thunderstorm Wind$10,000
Oct 10, 201874Executive Order No. 74: Declaration of a State of EmergencyFlash Flood$500

Source: state executive order archives collected by DisasterData Plus, joined to NOAA Storm Events. See the Plus overview for per-state coverage and method.

Most common hazards

Every declaration on record

Major disaster (DR). The big one. Opens the full toolbox: repair money for public infrastructure, help for households, and mitigation funding to reduce the next loss.

Emergency (EM). Narrower and usually faster, for protective work before or during an incident. Capped, and rarely brings household assistance. Nearly every county has one from COVID-19.

Fire management (FM). Cost sharing to fight a wildfire as it burns. Not a disaster declaration, and it does not open recovery programs.

Showing 15 declarations

DateNumberTypeHazardTitle
Jan 24, 2026EM-3637-NCEMWinter StormSevere Winter Storm
Sep 26, 2024EM-3617-NCEMTropical StormHurricane Helene
Aug 6, 2024EM-3608-NCEMTropical StormTropical Storm Debby
Oct 1, 2022EM-3586-NCEMHurricaneHurricane Ian
Mar 3, 2021DR-4588-NCDRSevere StormTropical Storm Eta
Aug 2, 2020EM-3534-NCEMHurricaneHurricane Isaias
Mar 25, 2020DR-4487-NCDRBiologicalCovid-19 Pandemic
Mar 13, 2020EM-3471-NCEMBiologicalCovid-19
Sep 3, 2019EM-3423-NCEMHurricaneHurricane Dorian
Jan 31, 2019DR-4412-NCDRHurricaneTropical Storm Michael
Sep 10, 2018EM-3401-NCEMHurricaneHurricane Florence
Oct 7, 2016EM-3380-NCEMHurricaneHurricane Matthew
Mar 31, 2014DR-4167-NCDRSevere Ice StormSevere Winter Storm
Sep 5, 2005EM-3222-NCEMHurricaneHurricane Katrina Evacuation
Dec 12, 2002DR-1448-NCDRSevere Ice StormSevere Ice Storm
← North Carolina statewide overview · All North Carolina jurisdictions

How these numbers are built

Drawn from FEMA's OpenFEMA Disaster Declarations Summaries, rebuilt each week. A declaration is counted here once for each designated area it names, so a single disaster covering many localities is counted in each one. For that reason these jurisdiction counts do not sum to North Carolina's statewide total. This page counts declarations that named this jurisdiction as a designated area. Totals cover complete fiscal years (Oct 1 to Sep 30). Declarations from the fiscal year still in progress are listed in the tables on this page but are not counted in the totals until the year is complete. Uses OpenFEMA data but is not endorsed by or affiliated with FEMA.

Cite this profile

Choose a citation style, then copy the formatted citation. This profile is derived from FEMA OpenFEMA data and is updated as the underlying Disaster Data build is refreshed.

Other North Carolina jurisdictions